The Missing: The gripping psychological thriller that’s got everyone talking...

FREE Shipping

The Missing: The gripping psychological thriller that’s got everyone talking...

The Missing: The gripping psychological thriller that’s got everyone talking...

RRP: £9.99
Price: £4.995
£4.995 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods


Gary and Hodge - The pair of original time kidnappers that gathered up all of the missing children in the first book. They are sent to time prison by JB, but Gavin releases them, not knowing the consequences. They are eventually unaged and adopted by Angela and Hadley. The Missing is a series of fictional young-adult novels written by Margaret Peterson Haddix. It tells the story of famous children from history stolen by futuristic time travelers from their place in time and accidentally sent to the 21st century as babies. They are then adopted by families in the 21st century. Because Jonah is one of the stolen children, he, along with his non-adopted sister Katherine, must help return the missing kids to their rightful places in history and fix time before it is destroyed. The first book in the series, Found, was published on April 22, 2008. The series continued with book titles Sent, Sabotaged, Torn, Caught, Risked (originally intended to be titled Kept), and Revealed. The eighth and final book, Redeemed, was released on September 8, 2015. There are also two ebook short stories, Sought (which takes place before Risked) and Rescued (which takes place between Risked and Revealed). [2]

The Missing Books by Margaret Peterson Haddix from Simon The Missing Books by Margaret Peterson Haddix from Simon

The narration is centered around Claire Wilkinson. Her 15-year-old son, Billy is missing since a few months and she, her husband Mark, her elder son Jake are struggling to cope. Jake’s girlfriend Kira also stays with them and the events impact her as well. The family puts out an appeal and yet there is no progress. Claire uncovers secrets which the others in the family have hidden from her, and yet she is unsure if any of it could have been the trigger for Billy’s sudden disappearance one night. Claire also has fugues – periods during which she can remember nothing later. She leans on her neighbour Liz for support increasingly, more than even her own family. Haddix originally intended the series to consist of only seven books. However, she stated that she had trouble closing out the series in seven books; leading to her decision to write Redeemed. [3] Books [ edit ] Found [ edit ] The Lost Books of the Bible and the Forgotten Books of Eden (1926) is a collection of 17th-century and 18th-century English translations of some Old Testament Pseudepigrapha and New Testament apocrypha, some of which were assembled in the 1820s, and then republished with the current title in 1926. I suspect I'm going to be a lone voice with this one as many other reviewers have raved about it. I loved this author's two previous thrillers, The Accident and The Lie and had been eagerly looking forward to this latest book, but The Missing didn't engage me as much as I had hoped for and I can't put my finger on why. I liked it but I didn't love it. It's not the writing that's at fault because that is up to the usual standard and is excellent. It may be my mood at the moment, or the fact that I simply didn't care enough about the characters - I don't know. JB ( Tete Einstein) - A time traveler from the future who helps Jonah and Katherine restore time. He knows the rules of time traveling and guides Jonah and Katherine in many of their journeys. He is the son of Albert Einstein and brother to Emily Quinn (Lieserl Einstein). He was sent forward in time by his mother, Mileva Einstein, to a point in time when his mental illness could be cured so that he could live a normal life. He then grew up to become the time traveler Jonah and Katherine know as "JB".Some of her most popular books are from The Missing series. To date there are six books released, and Haddix has announced that she plans to release two more—one in the fall of 2014 and the last one in 2015. The books that have been released so far are Found (2008), Sent (2009), Sabotaged (2010), Torn (2011), Caught (2012), and Risked (2013). The seventh book will be called Revealed, and the eighth and final book: Redeemed. THE SETTING & CAST The Missing is one of those books that you know, especially as a parent, will discuss one of your worst nightmares. Fear of losing your child, in any way shape or form.

Books Removed From the Bible - Totally the Dream The List of 75 Books Removed From the Bible - Totally the Dream

Angela DuPre is one of the few adults to aid Jonah and Katherine on their mission to restore the missing children, because she was one of the few people to have seen the missing children before the event was covered up and hidden from public knowledge. This book focuses on the trauma of dealing with a missing teenage son/brother, family dynamics, lies, secrets and all sorts of shenanigans. Great mix of characters. It felt a little drawn-out in places, but was overall quite a fast paced read, despite being quite long. Definitely one I’d recommend to fans of character led mystery thrillers. We have broken this book into 7 parts. Most of these parts each have accompanying exercises for you to complete online. These seven sections are: Katherine is Jonah’s non-biological sister. She’s one year younger than him and decides to help him in his adventures to find the other missing children and to find out who Jonah really is.In a lot of missing person cases suspicion eventually falls onto the family members themselves and that's pretty much how I went into this story from the off. I began reading and immediately tried to distance myself from some of the characters because I didn't know whether or not to trust them, especially as we learn more about their actions leading up to Billy's disappearance, and even more so with some of their behaviour in the present day. Whilst Cally creates a very believable picture of a family struggling to cope with the disappearance of someone they love, there's still that undercurrent of mystery and suspense the whole way through the novel and so that's why I continued to be wary of each and every character. Sent was released on August 25, 2009. [10] [11] Sabotaged [ edit ] Cover for Sabotaged, the third book. The second half of the book, The Forgotten Books of Eden, includes a translation originally published in 1882 of the "First and Second Books of Adam and Eve", translated first from ancient Ethiopic to German by Ernest Trumpp and then into English by Solomon Caesar Malan, and a number of items of Old Testament pseudepigrapha, such as reprinted in the second volume of R.H. Charles's Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament (Oxford, 1913). Alex Polchak ( Richard, Duke of York) - Chip's younger brother. As one of the missing children of history, Alex has been adopted by different people than Chip. Less is known about Alex as he appears later in the first book and less personal information is given. His past is restored in Sent with Chip's. Dalton Sullivan ( John Hudson) - A missing child of history, the son of the explorer Henry Hudson who was put out to sea with his father during a mutiny in northwest Canada. Dalton never relived his past due to Second's interference but instead Jonah played his part in Torn.

  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns


Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop